Stained glass windows by ZAO Wou-ki

STAINED GLASS WINDOWS BY ZAO WOU-KI

The 14 original "stained glass windows" created by the great painter Zao Wou-Ki for the bay windows in the refectory of the priory, home of Pierre de Ronsard, were inaugurated on 3 July 2010. A unique work in the career of the Chinese painter, this creation befuddles its audience by the voluntary sobriety of the black Chinese ink and the applied technique.

It all began in February 2009. Zao Wou-Ki was asked to visit the priory by the Departmental Council and pay tribute to the tomb of the Pléiade poet in a gesture of reverence and affection as if his soul was still present in this place. Not to mention that the painter is also friends with a number of poets such as Henri Michaux, René Char, François Cheng...

The Romanesque refectory where he was asked to intervene has an austere appearance. The architecture is very sober except near the beautifully sculpted reader's pulpit. Surrounded by a garden faded by winter, the artist quickly avoided the temptation to use colour, wanting to accompany the building by his sober writing. Therefore, the colour black was necessary through its regularity in the sequences often painted by the artist.  Zao Wou-Ki selected a new series of 11 inks that were recently created to illustrate the poetry written by his friend Dominique de Villepin, gathered in a rare collection entitled “Là-bas”. The 11 inks used for the massive paintings fit perfectly with the eleven large 12th century windows. Understanding the defining feature, Zao Wou-Ki used the monotype created for the book for the three windows of the reader's pulpit. This pulpit is a source, an outpouring of the word. By raising the monotype painted in red Chinese ink, the colour of happiness in China, he inspires the religious building in a phenomenal and cultural way.

The technique posed a few problems that seemed difficult to solve. For example, how to respect the freedom of the artist's stokes without forcing them, smothering them or weighing them down with the famous lead strips. After a few difficulties experienced by traditional glassmakers, Zao Wou-Ki on the advice of his friend, painter Jean-Michel Meurice, went and saw Eric Linard, an expert in "decorated glass" for which he applied a patent with Saint-Gobain. The works were printed on a polyester film protected by sheets of butyl rubber and glass on each side. The entire work is then autoclaved.

The Historic Monuments committee still had to be convinced and eventually gave their go-ahead without ensuring the long-term conservation of the work installed and its integration into the 12th century building, bombed in 1944 and restored during the 1950s. There was also little evidence as to which stained glass actually hid the bay windows.

Today, the absence of lead strips makes the windows completely transparent. The floating effect of the motifs, emptiness and fullness rather than black and white, the clear view of nature changing before your eyes create a fantastic three-dimensional effect. The refectory holds exhibitions featuring famous artists of our time every year. After Zao Wou-Ki, sculptor Bernard Dejonghe and artist Ernest Pignon-Ernest used their talents to honour the priory.

Sign up to the newsletter

Les vitraux de ZAO Wou-ki

LES VITRAUX DE ZAO WOU-KI

Le 3 juillet 2010, on inaugurait quatorze "vitraux" originaux réalisés par le grand peintre Zao Wou-Ki pour les baies du réfectoire du prieuré, demeure de Ronsard. Œuvre unique dans le parcours du peintre aux origines chinoises, cette création déroute par la volontaire sobriété de l'intervention à l'encre de Chine noire et par la technique employée.

Tout commence une journée de février 2009. Zao Wou-Ki, à l'invite du conseil général, visite le prieuré et salue dans un geste de recueillement et d'affection le tombeau du poète de la Pléiade comme si son âme était toujours présente en ses lieux. Il faut dire que le peintre est ami des poètes qu'il a toujours côtoyés : Henri Michaux, René Char, François Cheng...

Le réfectoire roman où il doit intervenir est d'allure austère, l'architecture y est sobre sauf dans l'espace de la chaire du lecteur riche en décors sculptés. Entouré d'un jardin qui l'hiver est chromatiquement éteint, la couleur est une tentation première vite éludée par l'artiste qui souhaite accompagner l'édifice de sa sobre écriture. La couleur noire s'impose donc par son homogénéité dans des séries dont le peintre à l'habitude. Zao Wou-Ki sélectionne une série inédite de onze encres réalisées récemment pour accompagner les poésies de son ami Dominique de Villepin, rassemblées dans un livre de bibliophilie inédit Là-bas. Onze encres dont le format agrandi s'intègre parfaitement à celui des onze baies du 12e siècle. Le monotype réalisé pour le livre servira de base à la réalisation des trois vitraux de la chaire du lecteur dont Zao Wou-Ki a compris la particularité. Cette chaire est une source, un jaillissement de la parole et c'est en rehaussant le monotype d'encre de Chine rouge, couleur du bonheur pour les chinois, qu'il fait vibrer l'édifice religieux dans le plus prodigieux respect des cultures.

La technique pose quant à elle des soucis qui semblent difficiles à résoudre. Comment respecter la liberté des traits d'encre du peintre sans les contraindre, les étouffer, les alourdir avec les fameuses résilles de plomb ? Après quelques échecs du côté des maitres verriers classiques, Zao Wou-Ki sur les conseils de son ami peintre Jean-Michel Meurice s'adresse à Eric Linard, metteur au point de la technique du "verre décoré" pour laquelle il a déposé un brevet avec Saint-Gobain. Les œuvres sont sérigraphiées sur un film de polyester protégé de feuilles de buthyl et des verres prennent place sur chacune des faces. L'ensemble est ensuite passé à l'autoclave.

Restait à convaincre la commission des Monuments Historiques qui donna son feu vert non sans s'assurer de la question de la pérennité de l'œuvre installée et de son insertion dans un bâtiment du milieu du 12e siècle, bombardé en 1944 et restauré dans les années 50, dont rien ne permet de savoir quels étaient les vitraux qui en occultaient les baies.

Aujourd'hui l'absence de résilles offre une totale transparence. L'effet suspendu des motifs, le vide et le plein plutôt que le noir et le blanc, le caractère changeant de la nature visible en transparence créent des fenêtres en trois dimensions sur un possible ailleurs, là-bas ?

Le réfectoire est le lieu où des expositions d’artistes qui marquent notre époque sont proposées chaque année. Après Zao Wou-Ki, c’est le sculpteur  Bernard Dejonghe et le plasticien Ernest Pignon-Ernest qui ont honoré le prieuré.