Pierre de Ronsard

A mysterious celebrity

Pierre de Ronsard is a mysterious celebrity. We like to think of him as a courtly poet (probably due to the influence of the Romantics who rediscovered him) addressing flattering verses to beautiful women who politely declined. The poet of the princes and the prince of poets, who lived between 1524 and 1585, is an eyewitness of the Renaissance, a man perfectly in tune with the spirit of his time, traveller, tireless worker and worthy servant of the kings. Youngest son of a family of provincial nobility settled in the Possonnière manor house in Couture-sur-Loir in Vendômois, Ronsard experienced a childhood full of a beautiful Gâtine landscapes.

He continued to feel particularly attached to nature and the land that bore him. But his future was elsewhere. At the age of 12, the young Ronsard joined the court of King Francis I as a page to help accompany the young princes and princesses during their travels.

Most likely a victim of a type of syphilis leaving him half deaf, he was forced to give up his military career and find another alternative. In 1543, he received the tonsure and became cleric, allowing him to benefit from stipends, which increased in number, ensuring him a comfortable life. The muses could now lean on the poet’s writing case…In April 1545, in Blois, Ronsard met Cassandre Salviati de Talcy who appeared as Cassandre, the heroine of “Les Amours”. For the time being, Ronsard regularly attended classes taught by Hellenist Dorat at Coqueret College in Paris. Following “Défense et illustration de la langue française” (Defense and Illustration of the French Language) by Joachim du Bellay (1549), manifesto of the Pléiade (the name given to a group of 16th-century French Renaissance poets), this poet of Vendôme wrote his first poem entitled “Les Odes”.

He then wrote “Les Amours” in 1552 and then “Continuations des amours” from 1555 to 1578 with sonnets inspired by Marie, Astrée and Hélène. Here, Ronsard put the “French touch” back into the popular courtly sonnet inspired by Petrarch. Equally devoted to all types of poetry, he wrote Bocage, Mélanges, Élégies et Mascarades, Hymnes, making him the king’s official poet. From 1560, he regularly published editions of his collected works.

 The link between Ronsard and Saint Cosme Priory was tied in 1565 when Queen Catherine de Medici and her son, the young King Charles IX, appointed him as commendatory abbot. This benefice was a reward for his previous writings, including the engaging work of “Discours des misères de ce temps” and encouraged the writing of “La Franciade”, an endless epic tale requested by Henri II. In the early 1580s, sick and tired of the vicissitudes of the court, Ronsard often isolated himself in his priories, especially in Saint Cosme where he dictated the night before his death in December 1585, his most touching “Derniers Vers” (Last Verses).

Ronsard and poetry

Dive into the heart of Ronsard's works through an original and interactive tour. The prior’s home tells you all about the life of Pierre de Ronsard and helps you discover the richness of his work. The story continues in the gardens, revealing the hidden sides of Ronsard, lover of botany, gardening and flowers.

This sensory tour mixes sound devices, the smell of plants and flowers in the gardens, the beauty of a rare and unique heritage while combining nature and architecture.

Sign up to the newsletter

Pierre de Ronsard

Un inconnu célèbre

Pierre de Ronsard est un inconnu célèbre. On a aimé l’enfermer (sans doute sous l’influence des Romantiques qui l’ont redécouvert) dans l’image d’un poète courtisan adressant des vers amoureux à de belles femmes qui se refusaient à lui. Pourtant, le poète des Princes et prince des Poètes, qui a vécu entre 1524 et 1585, est un témoin privilégié de la Renaissance, un homme complet en phase avec l’esprit de son temps, voyageur, travailleur infatigable, digne serviteur des rois. Fils cadet d’une famille de noblesse provinciale installée au manoir de la Possonnière à Couture-sur-Loir en Vendômois, Ronsard a connu une enfance baignée par les paysages de Gâtine.

 Il en conservera un attachement particulier pour la nature et cette terre qui l’a porté. Mais son avenir est ailleurs. Âgé de 12 ans, le jeune Ronsard entre à la cour du roi François Ier en qualité de page au service des jeunes princes et princesses qu’il accompagne dans leurs voyages.

Sans doute victime d’une forme de syphilis qui le laisse à demi-sourd, il doit renoncer à la carrière des armes et trouver une autre voie. Il reçoit en 1543 la tonsure de clerc qui va lui permettre de bénéficier de prébendes qui, croissant en nombre, lui assureront une vie confortable. Les muses peuvent maintenant se pencher sur l’écritoire du poète… En avril 1545, à Blois, Ronsard rencontre Cassandre Salviati de Talcy qui prendra les traits de Cassandre, l’héroïne des Amours. Pour l’heure, Ronsard fréquente assidûment les cours de l’helléniste Dorat au collège Coqueret à Paris. À la suite de la Défense et illustration de la langue française de Du Bellay (1549), manifeste du groupe de la Pléiade, les Odes ouvrent le bal des œuvres du poète vendômois.

Elles seront suivies en 1552 des Amours – qui trouveront des « continuations » de 1555 à 1578 avec les sonnets inspirés par Marie, Astrée ou Hélène… – Ronsard y remet au goût français le sonnet inspiré de Pétrarque si prisé des courtisans. S’adonnant à tous les genres avec un égal bonheur, il écrit Bocage, Mélanges, Élégies et Mascarades, Hymnes qui le confortent comme poète officiel du roi. À partir de 1560, il publie régulièrement des éditions de ses œuvres complètes.

 Le lien entre Ronsard et le prieuré Saint-Cosme se noue en 1565 lorsque la reine Catherine de Médicis et son fils, le jeune roi Charles IX, lui en confient la commende. Ce bénéfice ecclésiastique vient peut-être récompenser les écrits plus engagés des années précédentes (Discours des misères de ce temps) et encourager l’écriture de La Franciade, vaste épopée souhaitée par Henri II. Au début des années 1580, malade et las des vicissitudes de la cour, Ronsard se replie souvent dans ses prieurés et notamment à Saint-Cosme où il dicte, à la veille de sa mort en décembre 1585, ses Derniers Vers, les plus touchants.

Ronsard et la poésie

Sa maison est aujourd’hui devenue une étape incontournable du nouveau parcours scénographique proposé au public. Poèmes à l’écoute, projections, livres, jeu permettent d’entrer dans l’univers du poète de la Pléiade.

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter